MINE EYES HAVE SEEN THE GLORY OF THE COMING OF THE RANGERS

10cb83d783be3f441bd7f285c149fe44

Something is happening on the 4th of March in London.

Something is happening in our Rangers world.

And you know, if I were standing at the time of the beginning of Rangers at her very inception in 1872, with the possibility of taking a kind of general and panoramic view of the whole of the history of Rangers up until now, and “the Almighty” said to me,

“Which period of Rangers history would you like to live in?”

I would take my mental flight by Flesher’s Haugh and I would watch Peter Campbell, William McBeath and brothers, Peter and Moses McNeil in their magnificent trek from the east end of Glasgow across the Clyde river, through the wilderness years on toward the promised land that is Ibrox. And in spite of its magnificence,

I wouldn’t stop there.

I would move on to the 1890–91 season, the very inception of the Scottish Football League, with Rangers being one of ten original members. And I saw the first of Rangers’ world record 54 championships being won.

But I wouldn’t stop there.

I would go on, to 1887 when Rangers came close to winning the English FA Cup only losing out to Aston Villa in the semi-final and on to 1894 to taste Rangers winning their first Scottish Cup success with a 3–1 win over Celtic.

But I wouldn’t stop there.

I would go on to the William Wilton years and the season of 1898–99 that saw the Gers win all 18 league games to establish a perfect record.

But I wouldn’t stop there.

I would go on, even to the great heyday of the Bill Struth Empire. And I would see every single 34 years of his tenure as Rangers manager. I would see all 18 league championships, 10 Scottish Cups and 2 League Cups being won. To watch the genius of McPhail, Morton and Waddell strutting their stuff in the shadow of the majestic Newly built red brick facade of Ibrox.

But I wouldn’t stop there.

I would go on, to the Scot Symon era and was able to watch Rangers winning six league championships, five Scottish Cups and four League Cups. to the 1956–57 season when Rangers went into the European Cup for the first time. I could watch the genius Slim Jim Baxter and the start of John Greig’s -the greatest ever Ranger- long illustrious career with Rangers. I would go to 1961 and see Rangers became the first British team to reach a European final against Fiorentina. then on to 1967 in Germany to see Rangers reach another European final against Bayern Munich.

But I wouldn’t stop there.

I would go on, to 1972 and the Camp Nou in Barcelona and see Rangers win the European Cup Winners’ Cup defeating Dynamo Moscow 3–2. And saw the Rangers fans take on the might of Irelands Eamon De Valera fellow fascist friend, Generalissimo Francisco Franco forces. The start of the dehumanisation and demonisation of Rangers fans in our so called free press. Ironically the same event is warmly remembered by the Catalans and Barca greats even to this very day as evidenced by Barcelona’s decision to invite Rangers to participate in their pre-season Trofeo Joan Gamper tournament in 1974, alongside the Basque team Athletic Club de Bilbao.

But I wouldn’t stop there even on that glory night.

I would go on, to Jock Wallace’s two managership spells of Rangers from 1972–1978 and 1983–1986 and saw all his triumphs the Scottish League Division One wins of 1975, 1976, 1978. The Scottish Cup wins of 1973, 1976, 1978. The Scottish League Cup wins of 1976, 1978, March 1984, October 1984. The trebles! The success under Wallace, particularly in the mid-1970s saw Rangers once again established as Scotland’s most successful club.

But I wouldn’t stop there

I would go on, to watch every kick of the ball from the Genius that is Davie Cooper from the time he came from Clydebank untill the time he left for Motherwell over a decade later.

But I wouldn’t stop there.

I would go on, to 1986 and The Souness Revolution and see Graeme Souness appointed as Rangers’ first player-manager. To see Graeme Souness awake the sleeping giant and the true potential that was and is Rangers and boy did it shaken and frighten the pariochal little inward looking back water that Scottish Football had become. To see the might of England, its captain etc. come over the border and our cream of Scottish players able to stay instead of being poached and going in the other direction. To watch Rangers win the 1986-87 league at Pittodrie and put a start to our long domination once again of Scottish football that would breed so much envy, bitterness. jealousness and hatred in our rivals.

But I wouldn’t stop there.

I would go on, I Could watch all of Ally McCoist 251 goals. Those goals won him the European Golden Boot – the first time a Scot has won the award – and he repeated that feat a year later. Despite breaking his leg.

But I wouldn’t stop there.

I would go on, to Walter Smith’s two tenures at Ibrox. The first being when He was appointed manager on 19 April 1991, with 4 games left to claim a third league title in succession. It eventually came down to Ibrox and the final league game of the season to title challengers Aberdeen, with Aberdeen only needing a draw to be crowned champions. 2 goals from Mark Hateley put an end to that and gave Rangers the win and the league championship. Walters Smiths first tenure culminated with the winning of nine in a row. I would go to watch the genius of Brian Laudrup and Paul Gascoigne strut their stuff in that era.

But I wouldn’t stop there.

I would go, to the 1992–93 season arguably one of the most successful in our club’s history and the best European campaign since 1972. I would watch Rangers win the domestic treble and come within one match of the 1993 UEFA Champions League Final.

But I wouldn’t stop there.

I would go on, to the Dick Advocaat years. When Advocaat became the first foreign manager of Rangers. And In Advocaat’s first season in charge, the club won the domestic treble , returning Rangers to the usual service after the barren season before.

But I wouldn’t stop there.

I would go on, to the Alex McLeish years, a real Rangers man who won the club its seventh domestic treble in his first full season as manager. against all the odds and Financial constraints provided us that day at Easter Road which has passed into Ibrox folklore, becoming known as Helicopter Sunday when even the helicopter that was carrying the league trophy was on its way to Motherwell so it had to turn around and fly to Edinburgh.

I wouldn’t stop there.

I would go on, To when Paul Le Guen became manager and although his domestic performances were abysmal. He provided us with some fine European displays. Most notably the win away to Livorno when Rangers became the first Scottish club to win a European tie in Italy.

I wouldn’t stop there.

 

I would go on, To Manchester 2008 and the UEFA cup final -The clubs fourth in her History- and be among the over 200,000 Blue sea of the Rangers family. A sight that wowed the footballing world but more tellingly shocked and frightened the Scottish Footballing world as they hid behind “Sporting Integrity” But even on that wonderful day to be a Ranger.

I wouldn’t stop there.

I would even come up to 2012, and see a man grappling with the problems of the attempted willfill destruction of his Club. And come with an eloquent cry that

‘This is my club, the same as it is for thousands and thousands of Rangers supporters, and we don’t do walking away’

But I wouldn’t stop there.

Strangely enough, I would turn to “the Almighty”, and say,

“If you allow me to live just for one day in the life of Rangers it would be in the first half of the 21th century, March the 4th 2015, I will be happy.”

Now that’s a strange statement to make, Why would I want to live and pick that one day in the near future when I have listed so much glory in the past to be alive in?

Why pick a time when the club is all messed up?. The club is sick. Trouble is in the land and confusion all around.

That’s a strange statement. That’s a strange answer. You might say.

But I know, somehow, that only when it is dark enough can you see the stars. And I see fate working in this period of the twenty-first century in a way that Rangers fans, in some strange way, are responding.

Something is happening in our Rangers world.

The masses of Rangers people are rising up. And wherever they are assembled today, whether they are in Johannesburg, South Africa, Nairobi, Kenya, Sydney, Melbourne in Australia, Hong Kong, New York City, Chicago, Los Angeles, Texas, Florida in the U.S.A. Toronto and Vancouver Canada. Argentina the list goes on.

All over the world!

You do not believe me? Just take a look at the picture below.

rfmap

 

In all those places in the world. The cry is always the same

“We want our Rangers back.”

And another reason that I’m happy to live on that day is that we as Rangers fans have been forced to a point where we are going to have to grapple with the problems that we have been trying to grapple with through our recent history, but the demands didn’t force them to do it.

Survival demands that we grapple with them.

Rangers fans, for years now, have been talking about fan ownership. But now, no longer can we just talk about it. We can achieve it.

It’s fan ownership or nonexistence.

That is where we are today.

Now, what does all of this mean in this great period of history?

It means that we’ve got to stay together. We’ve got to stay together and maintain unity.

You know, whenever Pharaoh wanted to prolong the period of slavery in Egypt, he had a favorite, favorite formula for doing it.

What was that?

He kept the slaves fighting among themselves. But whenever the slaves get together, something happens in Pharaoh’s court, and he cannot hold the slaves in slavery. When the slaves get together, that’s the beginning of getting out of slavery.

Now let us maintain unity.

We’ve got some difficult days ahead. But it really doesn’t matter with me now, because I’ve been to the lowest valley and the highest mountaintop with Rangers.

And I don’t mind.

We have lost many Brothers and Sisters along the way, sadly, unfortunately in the most traumatic, shameful period of our club Rangers history.

But I will tell you this. They have been allowed to go up to the highest mountain. And they have looked over. And they have seen the Promised Land.

They may not be there with us in person on the most important day in our clubs History. But I want you to know, that on March the 4th 2015.

We are the people and we will get to the promised land!

And so I’m happy.

I’m not worried about anything.

I’m not fearing any man!

Mine eyes have seen the glory of the coming of the RANGERS!!

And your eyes can see it also.

Join Buy Rangers

https://www.therst.co.uk/buy-rangers/

Join Rangers First

http://www.rangersfirst.org/

Hell Join both for all I care but do something do not leave it to others

Share holders make sure your voice is heard on March the 4th by postal vote, or by proxy. I would say by person but that is up in the air at the moment with the ludicrous, unsatisfactory choice of venue.

BUT MAKE SURE YOUR VOICE IS HEARD

LETS GET RANGERS BACK IN THE HANDS OF THE PEOPLE WHO TRULY WANT THE BEST FOR THE CLUB

WE THE PEOPLE

THE RANGERS FANS.

8 comments on “MINE EYES HAVE SEEN THE GLORY OF THE COMING OF THE RANGERS

  1. Shug McWilliams says:

    I have supported Sevco for 3 years now, we will never die, nae surrender, up the sevco!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Rab The Ranter says:

    As inspiring now as it was all those years ago, when The Rev Dr. Martin Luther King spoke those words in his last speach, just before he was so brutally murdered.
    No Surrender

  3. powerranger says:

    What a wonderful and emotional read.

  4. Rab says:

    Beautiful. No Surrender.

Leave a Reply

